Remember that game?  That’s what I was during and after my run.  As hungry as a hippo.

After a rigorous 2.5 hours of cleaning, we headed to the trail (a 3 mile loop) around noon with the dogs for a walk/run. We planned on having one person walk the dogs while the other ran. I ran first and completed one loop, then turned around and ran in the other direction to meet up with Chris.  I bumped into them at the 1.75 mile marker, which means I ran 4.25, and it took me 35 minutes.   Then I walked the dogs the remaining 1.25 miles while Chris ran.  It worked out well!

 I wasn’t that hungry as we were getting ready to go, but as soon as I started running the hunger set in (I should have known better!).  After a mile I could feel water sloshing around in my stomach.  Needless to say it wasn’t my best run, and I was famished by the end. 

As soon as we got home we split a piece of toast with almond butter to hold us over until lunch.  A nice combo of carbs & protein to refuel.

IMG_0369

I also mixed about one tablespoon of fruit punch flavored Gatorade G2 powder with appromixately 8 oz. of water.  It was the first time I had tried it and it was mighty tasty.  G2 has the same amount of electrolytes as original Gatorade, but has less calories per serving. 

IMG_0374

The 0.5 oz. powder pack.

IMG_0375

The result (I had already taken a few sips).

After a quick shower, we decided to go to Panera for lunch since we are in desperate need of groceries.  I decided to go with the Fuji Apple Chicken salad.  Mmmm, Mmmm, good.  It was topped with all-natural chicken, tomatoes, onions, pecans, gorgonzola, and apple chips.  And it was served with a delicious white balsamic apple vinaigrette and a small baguette.

IMG_0381

We ordered it to go because we had plans to eat at the pool in our apt. complex, but we were too hungry to deal with walking up there and ate at home instead.  We are usually not that lazy… just an fyi :)

I had this salad a few months ago for the first time, and it did not disappoint the second time around. 

I poured 1.5 of the dressing tubs (sounds funny but I wasn’t sure what else to call them) on the salad, and ate about 80% of it.   Chris polished off the rest.  I did manage to eat the entire baguette though!

And boy, oh boy are we such suckers for advertisements.  There was a HUGE poster advertising the Frozen Lemoade – which is apparently now back.  Of course we couldn’t resist and got one of those to share.

IMG_0379

We watched the woman behind the counter make it and realized we could have made one by ourselves at home!  Duh.  Next time.

I was pleasantly full after my lunch, and decided to take a break and watch some TV while some of us snoozed for a bit.

 

IMG_0382

Am off to run some errands in a bit!

