Zucchini boats were on the menu last night!  The Simply in Season recipe I followed was very easy, but there was definitely room for improvement on my end.  You’ll hear why in a bit.

Somewhere between 4 and 5 p.m. yesterday I had two snacks.  A cherry Fruit Leather and a Kashi chewy granola bar.

IMG_0619kashi granoloa bar

Both of these are staples in our house.

After I got home from work and walked the dogs, I went up to the pool and swam some laps for 20 minutes.   The pool at our apartment complex is not very big.  Maybe 10 meters?

Hi Dad!

Hi Dad!

But a 20 minute swim is a 20 minute swim no matter what the length of the pool is, right?  I love swimming because it is a total body workout! I had hoped to swim for 30 minutes, but heard thunder and hightailed it out of the pool.  I’ve heard that water and lightning don’t mix.

Once back home, I began preparing dinner.  I had to modify the recipe a bit as I didn’t have all of the ingredients.  The full Simple in Season recipe can be found at the bottom of this post.

First I cut the zucchini in half lengthwise, then I scooped out the seeds, and then I spooned out the remaining flesh and put it in a bowl to use for later.

IMG_0625

Monster zucchini’s!

I chopped up some red pepper & onions for the filling.

IMG_0623

And used Al Fresco spicy jalapeno chicken sausage for the meat.al fresco

I also added a can of diced tomatoes, the zucchini flesh, a dash of oregano, cumin & cayenne pepper, and 1/2 of this:

IMG_0631

As you can see, we like things spicy :)

I sauteed everything for a few minutes over medium-high heat.

IMG_0626

Then scooped the filling into the boats.

IMG_0634

And added some fresh shredded mozzarella & plain breadcrumbs.

IMG_0635

I stuck the zucchini in the oven for 15 minutes (preheated at 350).  And while we were waiting, we enjoyed some of this.

IMG_0637

A nice crisp Chilean Sauvignon Blanc.

IMG_0639

Wait, why are there three glasses?

We had our friend Kate over for dinner!

IMG_0643

Kate brought a delicious salad that had homemade cornbread croutons! I am sure she will be nice enough to share the recipe with me.  Thanks Kate!

IMG_0645

The zuchinni boat filling was delightful, but the boat itself was a little on the crunchy side.   They could have used about 5 more minutes in the oven (so 20 minutes total oven time).

The salad was sooo good I had to have seconds!

IMG_0647

Plus I had another 1.25 glasses of wine after the first :)

Dessert was an ice cream bar!

IMG_0654

I am horrified that I accidentally bought fat-free ice cream!  Fat-free ice cream doesn’t taste nearly as good as the real stuff.  I thought the Breyer’s double churn was going to be similar to the Edy’s slow churned which has 1/2 the fat, 1/3 fewer calories, and the same delicious taste as real ice cream.  Whoops.   I should have paid more attention… maybe we’ll start making milkshakes with it or something.

Needless to say, we all choose the real neapolitan kind.

Topping choices were: Reese’s pieces, chopped dark chocolate Reese’s peanut putter cups, and Fruity Pebbles.

IMG_0653

Fruity Pebbles???  Yes, that’s correct.

Last week we tried out a new frozen yogurt place called Local Yogurt, and they had Lucky Charms and Fruity Pebbles as topping options!  I actually debated for a while on which one to get, but finally went with the FP.  And boy was it a good choice!  So I couldn’t resist buying a box to have on hand for an ice cream topping :)  I wouldn’t suggest putting these on your ice cream every night.  But every once in a while is ok. (just like all foods!)

Mmmmm….

IMG_0655

I skipped the chocolate (have never been a huge fan) and had a scoop of vanilla & strawberry.  Can’t wait to have it again!

Zucchini Boats Recipe (remember I modified mine)

  • 1 extra large zucchini split lenthwise, scoop out the seeds, and discard.  Carefully cut away and reserve flesh to form two shells 1/2 inch thick.
  • 3/4 pound of ground beef or venison
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 red sweet repper
  • Cook beef, onion and pepper in frying pan until meat is browned.
  • 1 cup corn
  • 1 cup stewed tomatoes
  • 2-3 tablespoons mild chilli peppers
  • 1 glove garlic (minced)
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons fresh oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • Add all of the above to frying pan, turn heat to high and boil, stirring often, until liquid evaporates (about 5 min.)
  • 1/4 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup monterey jack cheese (shredded)
  • 2 tablespoons fresh cilantro (chopped)
  • Add to filling and mix well.  Place zucchini shells in a baking dish and fill with the meat mixture.  Bake in preheated ove an 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes.
  • Sprinkle an additional 1/4 cup of cheese on top and return to oven until cheese begins to brown.  12-15 minutes.  Garnish with 2 tablesppons of fresh cilantro and serve.

******************************************************************************************************

Now onto this morning…

I went to the gym!  I did the elliptical for 15 minutes, and ran for 2 miles of jog/sprint intervals on the treadmill.  I tend to do intervals whever I run shorter distances.   Intervals are a great way to improve your cardiovascular fitness!  After my cardio workout, I some upper body strength training, and abs (core work, not crunches).  I am so happy I was able to get up and felt great afterwards.

I thought this morning would be a good opportunity to use the leftover zuchinni boat filling from last night.   So we srambled up some eggs with it!  I used 3 eggs, and two egg whites.

IMG_0658

And I split a whole wheat role with Chris, which had 1/2 almond butter and 1/2 blackberry jam on top.

Sort of reminded me of the half and half cookies at Mike’s Pastry in Boston!

half & half cookie

If you are ever in Boston, please, please go to Mike’s Pastry in the North End!  They have the best cannoli’s you will ever taste.  I never even liked cannoli’s until I tried Mike’s!

Thankfully I remembred my coffee today.

IMG_0661

I should finish this by 2pm :)

