My friends arrived safely last night, and there was no better way to celebrate their arrival than with a bottle of champagne!

123

This bottle was leftover from my 30th birthday. 

Here is a mish mash of foods we snacked on before dinner.

124

My apologies for the poor presentation :)

Let’s see, the options were:

  • Jalapeno chips
  • 3 layer hummus
  • Pepper jack cheese
  • Kashi crackers
  • Peanut butter pretzels
  • Laughing cow cheese

I had a handful of jalapeno chips and a couple scoops of hummus.  And a refill on the champagne!

127

Cheers!

126

What was on the menu for dinner? Turkey burgers (on whole wheat buns), grilled zucchini and corn on the cob.

I mixed the following into the ground turkey (1 lb) before I created the patties:

  • 1 small onions (chopped)
  • 1/4 cup Dijon mustard (to keep them moist)
  • 2 tbsp Tabasco sauce
  • Dash of Salt & pepper
  • 1/4 cup dried Breadcrumbs

We heated the grill to high and lightlyoiled the grates.  Then we grilled the patties for 5-10 minutes per side.

133

On the zucchini:

  • Evoo (I brushed some on)
  • McCormick’s all-purpose seasoning (I use this 0n veggies, chicken and potatoes)

I needed a beverage with dinner of course.

130

A cool, refreshing Corona Light – with a lime.

Really any beer option would have gone well with our meal.

142

I boiled the corn on the cob for 15 minutes, and then threw in on the grill for about 5.  It was cooked to perfection ;)

Time do dig in!

141

For dessert, Kate brought over an amazing summer fruit crosata (recipe from Barefoot Contessa).

145

The crust was very light and flaky and the fruit was so fresh!

I had a scoop of vanilla ice cream and some whipped cream on top, but didn’t get a good picture.

Following dessert it was time for some Wii.  Chris and I don’t really play the Wii unless we have friends over, so I was excited when Liz and Lauren wanted to play.

I had this in my hand while I kicked Chris’s butt in some Wii tennis :)

144

A wheat beer with a light, refreshing taste.

It was so nice to have old friends meet new friends.  Friendship is good for the soul :)  Corny, I know.

