There is a first for everything, right?  This morning I had a few:

  • It was the first time in months I went to the gym on a Monday morning.
  • It was the first time the AC was broken in the gym.  Not cool. 
  • It was the first time I had a ripe tomato on my tomato vine.
  • It was the first time I made steel cut oats!

Yes, I am an oats newbie.  I learned all about oats on Kath’s blog.  She even has a tribute page for oats!  Her oats always look so creamy and delicious and creative, so I decided to take another break from my trusty bowl of cereal, and prepare some Quick Cook Steel Cut Oats from Trader Joe’s.

I cooked the oats last night because I have my morning routine down to a tee and knew I wouldn’t have enough time.  They took about 8 minutes total to cook.

I think I need to cook them a few more times before they’re perfected.

IMG_0818

But overall I enjoyed them very much.  Steel cut oats have the least amount of processing before they’re packaged and are rich in protein, fiber, B vitamins, and calcium.

 IMG_0819

Here’s what I added to my 1/2 cup of oats:

  • ~ tbsp of flax seed
  • ~ 1/2 a tbsp of almond butter
  • A sprinkle of ground almonds (leftover from my breakfast the other morning)
  • 1/2 a nectarine

I actually think 1/2 cup may have been to much.  I started to get pretty full about 3/4 of the way through my bowl.

I am not yet sold on eating oats more often than cereal, but I do plan on eating a bowl of oats at least once a week now – especially since they have so many health benefits.

IMG_0820

Kind of looks like a flower, right?

Let me rewind about an hour…

Before I consumed those oats, I went for a 4.5 mile run.  I ran 3.5 miles on the treadmill, and then I ran the remaining 1 mile outside.  The AC was broken, remember?  After 30 minutes of sweating bullets (I don’t think the girl next to me was very pleased with the unsolicited sprays) and having a tough time breathing, I couldn’t take it anymore and went outside to complete my run.  Why didn’t I just run outside in the first place?  I didn’twant to deal with the hills this morning :)

Before I left for work I decided to give my tomato plant a quick splash of water, and noticed I had one ripe tomato!

IMG_0816

I have never grown any sort of fruits or vegetables before, so I was thrilled to see this.

Lastly, it is a warm & muggy day here in Durham so I added a handful of ice to my coffee this morning (I only filled the mug half way with coffe, the rest is ice)

IMG_0821

Have a good morning!

