Preparing lunch took a total of 3 minutes today.  Really.  I timed it.

That’s the beauty of leftovers!  I had enough chickpea salad leftover from Monday to use for both Chris and myself.  And I couldn’t wait to try this cheese that we got yesterday!

  IMG_0948

Doesn’t that just sound delicious? Last week I mentioned that the feta cheese from Hillsborough Cheese Co. was amazing, and after tasting the jalapeno goat cheese, the feta may have play second fiddle.  I guess it all depends on what mood I’m in though.  Salty or spicy?

I created a bed of spinach, scooped the chickpeas on top, and scattered some of the Hoppin’ Jalapeno Chevre on (which definitely had a kick!).

IMG_0950

Spinach is packed with tons of nutrients and is an excellent source of fiber, iron, calcium and vitamins. I typically use spinach as my salad base because of its health benefits, but some times I prefer romaine because of its crunch.

IMG_0951

Although you can’t really tell, there was plenty of dressing from the chickpea salad, so there was no need to add anymore.

In addition to the chickpeas, I had one half of a whole wheat roll for some carbs.

IMG_0952

With some blackberry jam spread on top.

Then I remembered that I didn’t have any fruit with breakfast, so I added some watermelon!

IMG_0954

That’s exactly what I needed to complete my meal.

IMG_0955

Tonight will be low key, and I have not yet begun to formulate our dinner menu yet.

I hope to take some time to read and catch up with friends on Skype!

