I love summer!  I love that the days are long and it doesn’t get dark until almost 9 o’clock.  I love that I can sit at the pool for hours with a good book.  I love the smell of the ocean (if only I could make it to the beach).  And I love grilling! 

Okaaay, I’ll admit that we have a covered porch that allows us to grill year-round, but it’s just not the same as a hot, sticky, summer evening, ya know?

So what did we grill tonight?

sausage

Some chicken sausage and asparagus.

128

Before the asparagus went on the grill, I brushed on 1/2 tbsp of evoo and added a dash of S & P.

I also love that we have a great view of the sunset from our porch. :)

129

For  sausage toppings, I sauteed one green pepper and one small onion.

 126

Just as the sausage was about ready, I remembered we had some leftover couscous from the other night.  So I added that to some of the peppers & onions.

134

And squeezed the juice from 1/2 a lemon on there for some added flavor.

For condiments, I used Dijon mustard and Frank’s hot sauce.

138

Lastly, before I put the sausage on, I added a slice of tomato for some additional color.  Colorful foods are the healthiest foods (leafy greens, tomatoes, blueberries, carrots, etc.) so I do my best to include foods that represent all colors of the rainbow.

141

Clearly you don’t see Roy G. Biv here, but like I said, I try to do my best. 

I did include orange in my dessert though!

147

I had two scoops of mango sorbet with a scoop of coconut in between.

146

Ciao Bella has the best sorbet!  The pints tend to be a little pricey for my liking, but I stock up on them when they go on sale. :)

See y’all in the morning!

