The thunderstorms held off this evening, so I was able to get a few laps in at the pool.  While swimming is an excellent workout, I feel most productive when I sweat, and know I’m sweating, so I did 20 minutes of intervals on the elliptical before I hopped in the pool for 20 minutes. 

An hour before my workout, I snacked on a handful (~12) of unsalted almonds.

218

 And a clementine.

734

When I got home from work today, I was pleasantly surprised by a new kitchen toy sitting on the counter!  Chris and I have been pondering over whether or not to get a mandoline slicer because we are constantly slicing potatoes and vegetables (not very evenly).  Needless to say, I’m surprised neither of us have sliced off  a finger.

I guess Chris finally had enough and stopped at Target on the way home to pick one up!  I had some patty pan squash that I wanted to grill, so I was excited to test it out right away.

036

While I was getting everything ready, I snacked on a handful of pretzels & hummus.

034033

This hummus has a pretty good kick, and the pretzles are our favorite kind from Trader Joe’s.

I have to say that the mandoline slicer worked very well.  It was easy to assemble, and the squash came out evenly slice so I didn’t have to worry about different cooking times for each slice of squash. 

037

I brushed some olive oil on these, and added some garlic & herb seasoning from Mrs. Dash.

042

In addition to the squash, we BBQ’d some chicken with Stubbs Bar-B-Q sauce.

039

Spicy of course :)

We slathered it on the chicken.

043

Those were some humongous pieces of chicken!

I would like to mention that in addition to milk, chicken is one food that I almost always buy organic.  Not only does it taste significantly better to me, but I thought it was more nutritious as well.  However, my brother shared an article with me today by BBC News that says otherwise.  The article found that organic foods aren’t really more nutritious than conventional foods.  

To be honest, I don’t necessarily choose organic foods because they are known to be more nutritious, I choose them because they are less processed, have fewer contaminants, and taste better to me.  I will continue to buy organic chicken because I feel better knowing that the chickens are only fed natural food and I like the taste more (hence, the title of my blog).  And I will continue my organic produce delivery because I am an advocate for supporting our local farmers who are working to help us live healthier, more sustainable lives.

I think it would be interesting to read the criticisms of this study.

Does anyone else eat organic foods?  

Did you know that there really isn’t conclusive evidence that organic food is better for you?

Ok then, let’s get back to dinner :)

046

BBQ chicken on a bed of patty pan squash.  Tasty.

The white specks on the squash are chunks of jalapeno goat cheese  – it was a good decision to add them.

And even though I am not a huge dessert person because I prefer salty over sweet, I had a craving for some fruity pebbles and ice cream.

 

049

I reluctantly used the fat free ice cream.  I refuse to let it go to waste, and next time and I am going to pay more attention to the label!

Yay that tomorrow is Friday!

