I love when the weekends roll around because that gives me a chance to spend some more time on breakfast.  I like to keep breakfast relatively simple during the week by throwing together a bowl of cereal, yogurt & granola, or oats.  But come Saturday morning I am all about eggs, pancakes, waffles, french toast, mmmm…

Before breakfast I did a half hour of Yoga for Runners from Yoga Download.  I figured I could use the stretch after the results of yesterday’s run.

I was cooking for one this morning so I made a mini frittata. Frittata’s are one of my favorite egg dishes and they’re so easy to make.   I normally use 2 eggs and 1 egg white when I cook for myself, but we only had 2 eggs left this morning so I added a splash of milk.

And here’s what I put in it.

020

  • 1/3 cup of red peppers
  • 1/3 cup of spinach
  • 1 tbsp jalapeno goat cheese

I added a splash of vegetable oil to the pan, then sauteed the veggies for a few minutes before pouring the eggs on.  I let the eggs cook for 3 minutes, added the goat cheese, and then put the pan in the oven for 5 minutes to finish cooking.

I did a really bad job at spreading out the veggies evenly – whoops.

022

It still came out great though!

025

With a dash of pepper & tabasco.

Eggs are a great source of protein, and did you know that they’re one of the only foods that contain naturally occurring vitamin D?  You have to eat the yolk though because that’s where the vitamin D is found!

On the side I had a mini bowl of grapes & strawberries.

027

And a mini whole wheat role with tbsp of almond butter (1/2 tbsp on each half).

028

Breakfast was quite filling.

030

So let’s see how this breaks down into carbs, protein, and fat:

  • Eggs- protein & fat
  • Spinach – protein
  • Whole wheat roll- carbs & protein
  • Almond butter – protein & fat
  • Goat cheese – fat & protein

And I got a serving of fruit in as well!

Speaking of fruit, I had a fruit smoothie as a pre-lunch snack.  I had a meeting to welcome all of the new Fuqua Partners and we got together for lunch at Nosh afterwards.  Nosh is a great little lunch place for salads, pizzas, sandwiches. And their smoothies are to die for!  I was still full from breakfast and wasn’t ready for lunch yet.

031

It only took me ten minutes to decide on which one to get.  They all sound so good!

I went with the Beaucop Berries smoothie.

033

Here’s what was in it:

  • Blackberries
  • Blueberries
  • Raspberries
  • Strawberries
  • Orange juice
  • Honey

It was delicious and refreshing!

********************************************************************************************************

Now let me back up to dinner last night…

The forecast was for severe thunderstorms, so the live bluegrass didn’t happen.  Instead we went back to Alivias, where I took my friends last weekend for a drink.  Of course it didn’t end up thunderstorming!  But we were still able to eat outside under an awning, which was nice.

I started off the evening with a Blegian Golden Ale from the local Triangle Brewery.

016

Drink & repeat.  I had two of these.

And I had a greek salad with grilled shrimp for dinner.  I asked for grilled chicken, but they brought out shrimp.  Do chicken and shrimp sound alike??  Not sure how our waiter got confused. Ah well.. .maybe I mumbled.

I didn’t want to deal with sending it back, and I am pretty flexible so I just kept it.

017

On top was:

  • Red & green peppers
  • Banana peppers
  • Red onion
  • Capers
  • Black olives
  • Feta

It came with a balsamic dressing and pita triangles.

018

I have to say that the shrimp was really good! I am often skeptical of getting seasfood from pub type places but I was pleasantly surprised.

I am headed out to dinner again tonight followed by a party to welcome all the new Fuqua students and Fuqua Partners.  I will most likely be a late night :)  And a fun one!

