The weather cleared up! I still treated the day as a lazy rainy Sunday for the most part though.  I watched The Goonies after I got back from brunch.  Classic!  Then I decided I needed to stretch my legs and took Nylah for a 3 mile trail walk.  I was tempted to run, but want to give my IT band a few more days of rest.

Brunch this afternoon was at Foster’s Market.  Foster’s has a great selection of salads, sandwiches and breakfast items. I wasn’t exactly starving for brunch since I had a bowl of cereal, but I wanted to get something that would keep me full until dinner, which was on the early side.

Lox & cream cheese on a bagel did the trick!

043

The salmon is hidden under there, I swear.  Here’s what was on the bagel:

  • Cream cheese
  • Smoked Salmon
  • Tomato
  • Mixed Greens
  • Red Onion

As much as I love onions, I picked them off because they were pretty powerful.  This sandwich did an excellent job of keeping me full until dinner.  Salmon is an excellent source of protein and omega 3 ‘s.

Another reason why I love going to Foster’s is because they have an enormous display of old school candy!  Oh how it brought back memories of childhood :)

041

When I was little, my best friend and I used to bring purses filled with candy to the swim club with us in the summer.  We called them our “candy purses”.  What a creative name, huh? ;) 

Here’s some of my favorite candy as a child:

  • Fun Dip
  • Rock Candy
  • Candy Dots (the ones you ate off the roll of paper)
  • Ring pops

What old school candy did you love as a child?

I am not a huge candy or sweets person anymore.  I’m pretty sure I got my fill as a child!

Dinner was held at the business school this evening so that all the rookies & veterans could mingle.  I had a little bit of everything that was on the buffet.  I made an effort to keep my portion sizes small, as buffets make it very easy to pile food on your plate.

045

What’s on my plate?

  • Eggplant Parmesan
  • Grilled Chicken
  • Mixed greens salad with cornbread croutons (no dressing – they forgot to put it on)
  • Rice & feta
  • Bread

My favorite was the rice & feta.

046

Nice big chunks of feta!

And I couldn’t pass on dessert.

047

A chocolate chip cookie with walnuts.  Yum.

I am starting to fade already, and may have to hit the hay early tonight.

I can’t believe it’s already August?!?

