Good morning y’all!

I didn’t have a chance to share dinner with you last night, so I’m going to start with that this morning.  I was cooking for one again because Chris was still busy with new student orientation. I get my husband back today.  Yay!

What was on the menu? 

Wasabi salmon and roasted portobello mushrooms with fresh butter beans.

I received a pound of butter beans in my Bella Bean order last week, which were only a few days away from going bad.

IMG_1138

Butter Beans are an excellent source of fiber & protein.

While I was shelling the beans, I snacked on some cheese & crackers.

IMG_1139

Kellog’s All-Bran multi grain crackers and some Laughing Cow cheese.  There is one serving of crackers on my plate.

Which ones are not like the others?  

IMG_1141

One of the butter beans pod has some odd looking beans in it.  Is that normal?  I ended up throwing those out.

The shelled beans ended up being exactly one cup.

IMG_1143

I slightly modified the recipe I found, and here it is:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup shelled butter beans (or lima beans)
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 4 large portobello mushrooms ( I cheated and used pre-sliced mushrooms)
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp honey (I didn’t have honey)
  • 1 lemon

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Have ready a medium bowl of ice water.

Bring a large pot of water to a rapid boil over high heat. Add the beans and cook for 5 to 10 minutes or until tender. Transfer with a slotted spoon to the ice water to stop the cooking. Keep the hot water on the stove to reheat the beans later.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, add the oil and garlic and stir to combine. Place the mushroom caps in a roasting pan or baking dish and brush both sides with the oil mixture, reserving any leftover oil. Roast the caps, gill side up, for 10 minutes or until they begin to sizzle. In a small bowl, combine the soy sauce and honey. Brush the mixture over the gill side, reserving any remaining soy-honey glaze. Roast the mushrooms, keeping the gill side up, for 5 more minutes or until the mushrooms are tender and the cap side has browned.

Just before the mushrooms are done, return the beans to the reserved hot water to warm them through, about 30 seconds.

To serve, place the mushrooms on serving plates, with the cap side up. Drizzle with any remaining garlic oil and soy-honey glaze. Scatter the beans over the mushrooms and squeeze lemon over all. Serve warm.

These are the pre-sliced mushrooms I used.

IMG_1144

Once roasted, I ended up chopping these up and mixing them in with the butter beans.

IMG_1146

And the salmon was extremely flavorful!

IMG_1147

But slightly overcooked, my bad. 

It was still a delicious meal.

IMG_1148

I was going to bake a sweet potato as well, but once I had the cheese & crackers, I wasn’t hungry enough.

Wasabi Salmon recipe

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tsp wasabi powder (I used 3)
  • 1 tsp minced fresh ginger (I sprinkled store bought ground ginger on)
  • 1/2 tsp dark sesame oil
  • 2 salmon filets

Directions

Combine soy sauce, wasabi, ginger, and sesame oil in a large zip-top plastic bag; add fish. Seal and marinate at room temperature 5 minutes, turning bag occasionally to coat. Remove fish from the bag, reserving marinade.

While fish marinates, heat a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat. Add fish and marinade; cook 3 minutes. Turn fish over. Reduce heat to medium; cook 8 minutes or until fish is done.

For dessert?

IMG_1149

Trader Joe’s mango sorbet!

Before dinner I swam laps at the pool for 20 minutes.  As I was taking a rest, I was approached by someone who asked me if I was training for a triathlon.  I told them no, I was just trying to get some exercise in.

As I began swimming again, I thought – Hey, maybe I should sign up for a triathlon?  I love to swim and run, and biking is ok too.  Chris and I have talked about doing a sprint triathlon for years but we never had a pool to train in when we lived in Boston.

I did some research when I got home, and found three sprint triathlons in the area, one of which is in a few weeks!  The one closest to Durham (Hillsborough, NC) has the swimming leg in a pool though.  I’m not sure I’d like that?  How does it even work? I’d rather do an open water swim.

Has anyone competed in a triathlon where the swimming portion is in a pool?

I am going to decided by the the end of the week if I’m going to sign up for one!  I feel like I should.

*******************************************************************************************************

Let’s move onto breakfast.

This morning I actually took the time to make steel cut oats!  Because I have the quick cook kind from Trader Joe’s, they only took 8 minutes.

IMG_1169

Apples & cinnamon oats.  Delicious.

IMG_1171

I think these were an improvement from the first time I made them.

I also brought a travel mug half filled with coffee with me to work.

Who thinks I should sign up for a sprint triathlon?

Enjoy your day!

