Dinner was rush, rush, rush tonight because I had a dessert date at 7 p.m.  For Chris and I, eating dinner before 7 p.m. is about as far fetched as John & Kate Plus Eight getting back together.  We tend to eat around 8 p.m., or sometimes even later.  We could manage a 7:30 p.m. dinner time if we had to I guess.

So I rushed home from work, rushed around the kitchen to prepare, and rushed to scarf down my food.  P.S. – I don’t like rushing.

I pulled a few veggies from our CSA out of the fridge pondered over what to do with them.

We had…

111

Banana peppers.

112

Baby squash.

113

Cherry tomatoes.

What to do with all these veggies?  How about roasting them?!  The grill was going to be full of our other dinner components so it was either roast ’em or sautee ’em.

As I was chopping up the veggies, I thought this guy looked like a member of the watermelon family.

114

No?

Once the veggies were all chopped and ready, I spread them out on a cookie sheet, and mixed together the following to toss them in:

  • 1 tbsp evoo
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 large garlic glove

I ensured the veggies were well coated before putting them in the oven.

118

I baked the veggies in the oven at 350 for 25 minutes.  While they were roasting, I got the remainder of our dinner ready.

First, I used my new mandoline slicer to slice some sweet potato.

121

I only used half because it was enormous!

I put spread the potatoes out on aluminum foil, sprayed cooking spray on them, and added:

  • S & P
  • Paprika

122

Then I wrapped placed them on the grill for about 15 minues.

And the best part of dinner?  Chicken tenders with Bone Suckin’ BBQ sauce!

125

Just as the chicken was about ready, I pulled the veggies out of the oven.

124

And once the sweet potatoes were ready, I assembled my plate.

126

127

129

I ate this meal in about 2.5 minutes because I was running late to my dessert date.  I don’t suggest eating your dinner that fast.  Ever.

So why have I been excited about dessert all day?

131

I went to Locopops!

Ok, look, I know what your thinking…  Popsicles for dessert?  What’s so great about that? Lameo.

But these aren’t just any popsicles, they’re gourmet popsicles!  Just check out some of the flavors they have!

130

Plum Pink Pepper, Strawberries -n-Cream, Ambrosia Salad, Chocolate Brownie, Sweet Corn, Mojito…. and this was only one half of the wall of flavors!

I decided to go with Pomegranate Tangerine.  Nice and fruity.

133

Jen, on the other hand, got Sweet Corn.  And get this….

134

There were actual corn kernels in it!  She said it tasted like cream of corn.

I wish I had a lifetime supply of Locopops in my freezer.  Can you believe I’ve only been to Locopops twice in the past year?  I really need to get there more so I can try all the flavors before we leave Durham :)

Night y’all.  Sounds like the thunderstorm finally made it to Durham!

