Not quite sure I agree with the “no pain, no gain” motto.  I mean, what can I possibly gain from having a painful IT band?  I have gained a lot of frustration for sure, but I don’t think that counts :)

Last night I went on a 3 mile trail walk with some friends and my IT band was very tight by the end. I rolled on my foam roller for what felt like hours when I got home, trying to release some of the tightness, and popped an Aleve.  Then I did a couple rotating exercises on the Bosu Ball.  These exercises really strengthen your core.

3 sets of 10 push ups

IMG_1184

Notice that my back, legs, and hips are in a straight line (at least they should be!)- I actually think I could improve on this a bit after seeing this photo..

IMG_1188

And continue to be in a straight line as I lower.

I also did 3 sets of 25 bicycle sit ups.IMG_1186

And 3 sets of boat pose held for 30 seconds.

IMG_1190

I am a very visual person, so I thought it would be helpful to show pictures of my Bosu Ball exercises.

After my quickie workout, I went over to Jen’s for dinner, drinks, and dessert.

My contribution was a sweet cabbage salad.

IMG_1191

This was super easy to make, and I used my food processor to chop up all the veggies. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 6 cups shredded cabbage (about 1/2 head)
  • 1 cup shredded carrot (I used red pepper because I didn’t have carrots)
  • 1 cup chopped green bell pepper
  • 1/2 chopped red onion (I left this out)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1.2 cup white wine vinegar
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon dry mustard (I didn’t have dry mustard so I used my standard Dijon)
  • 1/2 tsp celery seeds (didn’t have these so I added two stalks of chopped celery)
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions

Combine first four ingredients in a large bowl; toss well.  Combine sugar and remaining ingredients in a mall bowl, stirring with a whisk.  Pour vinegar mixture over cabbage mixture, tossing genlty to combine.  Cover; hill 1 hour.

IMG_1192

A much healthier option that your standard cole slaw :)

Jen made some delicious chicken & veggies kabobs with pineapple.

IMG_1198

IMG_1202

While the kabobs were grilling, I had a class of Penfold’s Koonuga Hill Shiraz Cabernet.  One of my go-to wines! 

IMG_1206

It was so good that I had another glass with dinner :)

IMG_1207

Good stuff!  And oh my, wait until you see what we had for dessert!

IMG_1211

Coconut cake!  Happy Birthday Ashley!

With vanilla bean ice cream.

IMG_1215

Heaven.  Really.

Although I think from all the sugar I had a hard time falling asleep?  Totally worth it though :)

******************************************************************************************************

Despite the tightness in my leg last night, I went to the gym this morning and did the elliptical.  I know, I shouldn’t have gone.  But the elliptical has never bothered my IT band before!

I planned to do a 40 min. crescendo.  I rarely maintain the same level and speed on the elliptical becuse I tend to get bored.

After a 5 minute warm up on level 5, I increased the level by one every 2 minutes.  Once I reached level 13, I decreased the level every two minutes.  Only I had to stop after 32 minutes because my IT band hurt too much :(

So I did some upper body strength training:

  • 3 sets of 12 bicep curls (10lb free weights)
  • 3 sets of 12 triceps pull downs (20lbs on weight machine)
  • 3 sets of 12 seated row (40lbs on weight machine)
  • 3 sets of 8 lateral arm raises (8lb free weights)

Followed by several minutes of rolling on the foam roller and stretching my IT band.

Followed by a bowl of steel cut oats :)

Oats are really starting to grow on me!  I had some leftover from the batch I made yesterday.

IMG_1217

Cran-almond oats with a sprinkle of cinnamon (those are Craisins).

I added a splash of milk and microwaved them for two minutes to warm them up.

IMG_1218IMG_1219

I enjoyed them very much. 

And I hope you all enjoy your day very much!

I know it’s early, but I’m already looking forward to dessert tonight!  I’m going to a very unique place :)

