It is a bright, bright sunshiny (and hot) day here, and like most days, thunderstorms are in the forecast for later this evening.  The storms never seem to make it to Durham though?

So at my last trip to the grocery store, I bought a loaf of sunflower seed bread from the Ninth Street Bakery, which specializes in organic, whole grain breads.

IMG_1224

Sunflower seeds are an excellent source of vitamin E and magnesium.

For lunch, I opted for an open faced sandwich and only used one piece of bread.  I toasted it under the broiler for a few minutes, and then added:

  • Chicken salad
  • Tomatoes
  • Dijon mustard
  • Spinach
  • Pepper Jack cheese

Then I returned the sandwich to the broiler to melt the cheese.  I only include cheese in my sandwich if it’s melted :)

IMG_1228

As if the wasabi horseradish in the chicken salad wasn’t spicy enough, I added a couple dots of sriracha.

I was surprised the sunflower seeds didn’t get too burned under the broiler!

IMG_1232

As a side, I scooped some sweet cabbage salad leftover from last night onto my plate.

IMG_1230

No chips!  They’re finally gone!

IMG_1231

And I brought a plum as an afternoon snack.

Speaking of snacks – I saw this article at Realsimple.com today about how to snack smarter.  I don’t know about you guys, but I usually snack at least twice a day:

  1. In between breakfast and lunch
  2. In between lunch and dinner

The article refers to snacking as  an “ingenious” move if you do it knowledgeably key word here!!  Here’s why they think it makes sense to snack:

  • It keeps your metabolism humming
  • It helps you eat less at meal times
  • It helps ensure you get all your vitamins
  • It puts you in a good mood
  • It foils even the strongest cravings

To learn more you can read the full article here, and even see what the experts suggest you should snack on.

Hmmm..  after all this snack talk I think I feel a little hunger setting in and may need to reach for that plum now!

And I’m  still so excited for dessert tonight!

How often do you snack a day?

