How many of you prefer to eat frequent smaller meals during the day rather than eating 3 square meals a day? Remember in one of my earlier posts , I mentiond 5 reasons why it makes sense to snack? 

When Chris and I were at Barnes & Noble this afternoon to return a book, my eye caught the cover of Real Simpe at the register.  

 062

I remember that I had mentioned this earlier this week, and when I flipped through I saw that it gave 18 delicious and nutritous examples of snacks that contain fewer than 200 calories per serving and include a satifying mix of protein, healthy fats, and enegrizing carbs.  And the best part is they include a picture of each snack!  Remember I mentioned that I am a very visual person?  I need all of my cookbooks to show pictures :)

Want to get the scoop without having to purchase the magazine?  Then just hang tight and follow me for the next 18 days, as each day I will reveal one of the snacks that is suggested.  There are some good ones, trust me.

So back to earlier this afternoon….

I made it to the pool and swam laps for 25 minutes.  For those of you who like to swim, but think maybe your pool is too small to do laps, here’s the workout I did in a 10-12 meter pool:

For every 12 laps, I took a one minute break and each set of 12 laps took ~ 5 minutes:

  • 12 laps of freestyle
  • 12 laps alternating freestyle and breaststroke
  • 2 laps butterfly, 2 laps backstroke, 2 laps breaststroke, 4 laps freestyle (12 laps)
  • 1 lap sprint, 1 lap easy (repeat 6 times, freestyle)
  • 12 laps freestyle

Then I took a nice rest at the pool and read for an hour.  It got too hot to stay up there, and I was starting to get hungry again :)

I had picked up some peppered ham and cheese earlier, so I made us grilled ham & cheese sandwiches with tomatoes on sunflower bread.

 053

I used pepper jack cheese and Dietz & Watson peppered ham.

055

Mouth watering. 

Since I still had 1/2 a head of cabbage, I made another cabbage salad while I was making lunch.  I am headed to a BBQ up at our pool tomorrow and am going to bring it as a side.  There were a few variations to my earlier recipe though.  I added:

  • Toasted sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp of sesame oil
  • 1/3 cup rice vinegar (rather than white wine vinegar)
  • 1 tsp sugar (rather than the 1/2 cup of sugar)

059

I really enjoyed the addition of sesame seeds and sesame oil.

I think it will taste even better tomorrow after the cabbage and veggies soak up some of the vinegar!

My lunch in full.

057060

 Dinner tonight will be at home.  Not sure what I am going to cook yet. 

Ready for snack suggestion #1?!

Apple slices dipped in 1 tablespoon of almond butter.

065

Enjoy your evening!

