Holy hot.  There is a heat advisory until Tuesday and when you walk outside it is just a wall of thick, hot air.  It’s 8:30 and weather.com says it feels like 99 right now. There’s not much you can do to cool off other than sit in a tub of ice cubes.

Needless to say, the lake this afternoon wasn’t all that refreshing.  We did have our own private little beach though!

037

And Nylah swam without hesitation for the first time!

043

Fetching a stick did the trick.

We stayed at the lake for about an hour, and then made our way back to our apt.  In an attempt to cool off, we were hoping to pass a Dairy Queen on the way home for some ice cream, but settled for frosty’s from Wendy’s.

056

Did you know that Wendy’s has vanilla frosty’s now?!?  Woo hoo!  I’ll choose vanilla over chocolate any day.

We made our way up to the pool with friends after we got home assuming that the pool water would keep us cool.  Um, no, not really.  But it was better than sitting on a chair in the hot sun. 

As I was contemplating other ways to cool off, a lightbulb went off in my head.  An ice cold beer would do the trick of course!

057

Skinny Dip!  This was the first time I’ve tried this beer and it was very refreshing.

After another one of those it was BBQ time! 

Here’s some of the snacks we had lying around.

060

I had way too many handfuls of chips, and way too much pita & hummus, but I enjoyed every single bite :)

Grillmaster Mike made this amazing pulled pork he slaved over last night. It was gone in seconds!

061

And check out the wide array of sauces he brought for it.

062

Clearly I choose the hot sauce option.

The grillmaster at work.

064

What a trooper.  Only Mike would be excited about grilling for 50 people in 100 degrees.  Although he doesn’t look too excited, does he?  He was, I promise.

In addition to the pulled pork, there were hot dogs, hamburgers, and turkey burgers.

I stuck with just the pulled pork though since I rarely ever get a chance to eat it.

071

I also had a scoop of potato salad and peach coleslaw. 

And for dessert?

072

Some sort of cheesecake with a strawberry and whipped cream topping.  If I waited any longer to eat it, it would have been cheesecake ice cream :)

2nd year Fuqua Partners rock :) 

078

What the heck is a Fuqua Partner??  We’re the wives/husbands/significant others of Fuqua business school students.

Despite the heat, it was a fun day, and I’m glad Nylah got a chance to swim.  Since I didn’t get around to cleaning the aptartment, I’ll have that to keep me busy tomorrow night.

Ready for snack suggestion #2 before I go?

A small bowl of plain oatmeal topped with berries and a splash of skim milk.

080

Yum!

