Dinner last night ended up being a mix of veggies and shrimp with pasta.  I had an eggplant that I wanted to use, so I peeled the skin off and chopped it into cubes.

Other veggies I added were:

001

  • Green pepper
  • Onion
  • Scallion

I sauteed garlic & olive oil for a minute (Pretty much everything I cook in a frying pan is sauteed in garlic and olive oil)

004

I love the scent of garlic sauteing in olive oil!  Mmmm…  Definitely one of my favorite scents.

Then I added all of the veggies at once and sauteed them until tender.

007

Then I added the shrimp and cooked for two more minutes.

012

I used Hodgon Mill’s whole wheat, whole grain pasta.

003

Once the pasta was ready, I added it to the pan with a can of diced tomatoes.

005

I turned the heat down to low and simmered for 3 minutes.

015

For additional flavor I added:

  • Basil (from the spice rack, not fresh)
  • Garlic Powder
  • S & P
  • Red pepper flakes

And I topped our plates off with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese.

017

019

To round out my meal, I had a glass of Twin Fin pinot grigio.

063

After dinner we watched one of the dumbest movies ever.  It was called Knowing, with Nicholas Cage (who I am not a big fan of).  I don’t recommend it :)

*********************************************************************************************************

Now onto breakfast this morning!  Chris had soccer again until11, so I waited until he came home to make breakfast.  In the meantime, I had a piece of sunflower toast with AB & J.

022

I need this to help fuel a 2 mile trail walk/jog with Nylah.  I really wanted to pinpoint where the pain in my hip/leg was so I’ll admit that I jogged a little bit :)  Oddly enough, jogging didn’t bother me anymore than walking did.  I still think I may go see a Dr.

Once Chris got home, I whipped up some scrambled eggs.  Because I enjoyed my smoked salmon bagel so much last weekend, I picked up some when I saw it was on sale.

024

Wild Alaskan Sockeye.

I also added:

  • Tomatoes
  • Capers
  • Jalapeno goat cheese

And voila!

025

It was a nice variation from our plain ol’ scrambled eggs!

I also had a small bowl of blueberries.

026

Hopefully this will hold me over for the next few hours!

027

I think we are going to head to Falls Lake to take Nylah swimming in a bit, and then I have a BBQ later this afternoon.  I should also probably think about cleaning our apt. at some point considering we have guests coming on Wed.  Hmmm… maybe later tonight.  It’s too nice out for cleaning!

Want to hear what snack suggestion #2 is?  Check back later tonight!

