We have definitely reached the dog days of summer.  It is toasty out!  This would be the perfect week to be at the Outer Banks.   Ahhh, the beach.  Labor Day where are you?

So guess what?!  I went to the gym this morning and was pain free!  It put me in the best mood.

My plan was to do the elliptical and if I felt any sort of pain at all I was going to swim laps instead.  Luckily I didn’t have any pain for the 30 minutes I was on the machine , as I forgot my goggles anyway!

I took it really easy and stayed on level 5 the entire time, no hills, and kept my speed around 5.0.  I hope this is a good sign!  When I got back to my apartment I did a few leg exercises that my physical therapist taught me a few years ago.

Now onto breakfast – I went back to the basics this morning and had a bowl of cereal.  Booooring, I know.  But so, so good.

IMG_1464

A mix of Kashi Island Vanilla and Autumn Wheat with strawberries, blueberries and flax.  I’m sure you’re getting pretty tired of these cereals!  Well I am down to the bottom of the box so hopefully you won’t see them too much longer :)

IMG_1463

Look how plump those blueberries are?!

Lunch today was a bowl of eggplant & feta.  We had some leftover eggplant from dinner the other night, so lunch took a whopping 3 minutes to prepare.  I love quick and easy lunches!  I kept it on the lighter side beacuse I had a 1/2 bagel with cream cheese around 11am during a meeting.

IMG_1466

I drizzled 1 tsp of evoo and 1 tsp of balsamic vinegar and added S & P on top as well. 

IMG_1467

IMG_1468

Did you know that eggplant is high in fiber, potassium, and B vitamins?  Keep in mind that a lot of the health benefits are in the skin.  Sometimes I find the skin to be too tough though and need to peel it off.  It depends.

On a fitness note – I am curious to know how many of you rely on a heart rate monitor when exercising?  I can’t say I have ever tried one. 

On the NY Times Well Blog, there is an interesting post about the pros and cons of HRM’s.  There is some discussion as to whether or not it is better to listen to your body than HRM’s, and whether or not they psych you out from constantly checking it.

Do you use a heart rate monitor?  If so, which kind?

