Stop the press!  Chris and I ate dinner at 6:45 tonight!  I mentioned in an earlier post that eating before 7pm is typically unheard of.

I scooted out of work early this afternoon and went straight to the gym when I got home.  It was too hot out for laps so I ran on the treadmill instead.  I kept my run slow, short, and easy, and was cautious the entire time.  I ran 2.5 miles and felt pretty good, but I didn’t want to jump the gun, so I stopped and walked for 5 minutes.

When I got home I used my brand spakin’ new resistance bands!  I just picked these up over the weekend for a change of pace.

Here are the exercises I did:

035

Seated row.

037

Straight arm raises.

038

Bicep curls.

039

Tricep extension.

041

Lateral arm raises.

I did 3 sets of 10 for each exercise (rotating between excercise)

I also did 3 sets of 25 bicycle sit ups on the bosu ball.  By the second set of sit ups my stomach was growling, so I got started on dinner as soon as I was done.

What was on the menu?

Panko crusted tilapia with grilled sweet potatoes and snap beans.

Here are the makings for the panko crust.

044

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup panko crumbs

I filled the bottom of the frying pan with vegetable oil and heated it iover high heat.

048

I think I like panko crumbs better than regular bread crumbs.  They’re so light and flaky.

We sliced the sweet potatoes into chips and covered them in olive oil, S & P and paprika.

043

And the green beans I sauteed in olive oil & garlic and squeezed some lemon over them once they were cooked.

051

Green beans aren’t my favorite vegetable, but we have been getting them in our produce delivery and it’s been a nice change from broccoli.

The fish turned out fantastic!

049

053

I squeezed lemon on the fish as well.

Overcooked sweet potatoes are the way to go.  I like them a little crispy :)

050

Balance, balance, balance.

052

The piece of fish was huge so I gave 1/3 of it to Chris when I got full.

Of course I saved enough room for ice cream and Reece’s Pieces though!

055

Just one small scoop of ice cream –  but that’s enough for me as I am not a big dessert/sweets person.

Ready for snack suggestion #4?!

Two slices of deli turkey and a handful of grapes.

056

G’night!

