First things first.

If you haven’t already voted on which domain name I should choose, please do so HERE before Friday.  Many thanks in advance for your help/advice!

******************************************************************************************************

So last night as I was running on the treadmill, two things came to mind:

  1. I am not a huge fan of running on the treadmill and prefer to run outside (when it’s not 100 degrees out).
  2. I prefer to run with a friend.

How many of you have a running buddy?

When I lived in Boston, for two years my friend Kelsie and I would get up every morning to jog around the Charles River.  And every night, I looked forward to and was excited about our runs.  We would chit-chat the entire time and we both learned more about each other in two years than most friends learn in ten.  Our runs became our therapy sessions.  We motivated, inspired and pushed each other.  I always felt so happy after our runs.

Unfortunately, our runs came to and end after Kelsie moved to RI for work.  I was devastated.  How was I going to survive without my daily runs with Kels??  Before Kelsie moved, she gave me a book called “Sole Sisters”.  I read it immediately, and could barely put it down.

sole sisters

This book is about stories of women and running.  Among them are:

  • Sisters who competed in a 5K race to honor a sister who survived breast cancer.
  • A 9/11 widow who ran her first marathon to honor the memory of her husband.
  • A 65-year-old woman who overcame obesity and alcoholism to finish the grueling Ironman triathlon.
  • An unknown runner from Norway named Grete Waitz who decided to run a marathon-and changed the face of the sport.

For those of you have a running partner, or simply love to run, I highly recommend this inspiring book.  It is the perfect gift for a running buddy.

Every time Kelsie and I see each other we make it a point to get a run in no matter what time of day or night.  She is currently training for the Cape Cod marathon this October and is going to kick as$.  Good luck Kels!  Miss you!

Now, I have had a few running buddies in Durham, but they haven’t been as consistent, and no one will replace Kelsie :)

mekelse

******************************************************************************************************

Let’s move onto breakfast, shall we?

I had a small bowl of Kashi Go Lean Crunch with strawberries and flax.

IMG_1560

This is Chris’s all time favorite cereal.  It’s a little on the sweet side fore me, but it does have 8g of fiber, 9g of protein, and 16g of whole grains.

IMG_1563

I have to eat lunch on the earlier side today, which is why I kept my bowl small.

Do you run solo, with a friend, or with a running group?

