Chris and I picked up our race packets and surveyed the triathlon scene earlier this evening!  We also attended an informational meeting for “first timers”.  We were happy to see we weren’t the only ones :)

I mentioned before that I was not thrilled that the swimming portion was in a pool, but I’m sure there will be plenty of other opportunities to do an open water swim tri!

025

We will swim 16 lengths total, 2  lengths per lane.  I hope I don’t bump into anyone!  After we checked out the pool we drove the bike course so that we could familiarize ourselves with it.  Doesn’t seem too hilly or anything – thankfully!

In addition to a t-shirt, we got a few other goodies in our race bag.

027

Endurolytes capsules, which I’ve never seen before, but they apparently offer superior cramp prevention.

029

And Hammer Gel, which I have also never used.  I have used GU and Power Gel before and they’re similar enough.  Not sure I’m digging the apples & cinnamon flavor though?

Once we got home we fired up the grill for chicken and boiled some water for pasta.

031

Once the chicken was on and the pasta was cooking, I chopped up some squash & green peppers to saute in garlic and evoo.

035

For a sauce I used Bertolli’s tomato & basil (bogo this week!)

036

Please disregard the almost overflowing pot of pasta in the background :)

For flavor I kept it simple and added:

  • S & P
  • Garlic powder
  • Red pepper flakes

038

Red pepper in pasta is a must!

Chris did an excellent job grilling the chicken.

041

Which was placed on top of a plate of pasta.

044

To top if off I added a sprinkle of parmesan cheese and some fresh basil.

045

I wanted our meal to include:

  • Carbs – whole wheat pasta
  • Protein – grilled chicken
  • Healthy fat – olive oil

I thought my plate was huge, but I think I’m feeling a little hungry again at the moment?  I may need some toast and almond butter or something.

Before my race tomorrow I plan to eat a bagel with peanut butter and a banana.  The swimming portion officially starts at 8:00 a.m., but since Chris and signed up so late our start time isn’t until 8:50.  That’s a lot of waiting around!

I’m off to go get everything ready! Wish me luck!

