Only a few hours left to enjoy of the weekend!  NO! :)

This afternoon was a tad stressful because there were a few issues with tomorrow’s BIG surprise, so while I was at the grocery store I picked up some fresh flowers.

033

And immediately felt better.  Flowers do that, ya know?

Dinner tonight was a little bit of a mix n’ match.

I wanted to use a summer butternut squash I received from Bella Bean last week.

038

After I peeled of the skin, and removed the seeds, I cut it into cubes and placed it in a baking dish.

039

On top I sprinkled:

  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

I baked it at 375 for 45 minutes.  The aroma reminded me of Thanksgiving!

While those are the measurements I used, I would recommend using less butter.  The final result was very buttery.  It was delicious, but I could have done with a little less butter.

We also made BBQ pork chops.

044

And grilled okra.

045

I brushed a wee bit of olive oil on the okra before it was placed on the grill, and added a sprinkle of S & P.

For a dipping sauce, we used chili & garlic sauce.

052

This made the okra a little more bearable :)  I am not yet sold on the taste of okra, and think I may try frying it next time.

Even thought there was a little Southern…

055

BBQ pork.

A little Asian…

 041

 Because of the Asian dipping sauce of course!

And a little Thanksgiving…

057

 It was fabulous!

058

Dessert followed dinner almost immediately.

 064

Vanilla ice cream with Recee’s Pieces!

Before I head back to finalizing the surprise, I must apologize that I forgot to post snack suggestion #10 & #11 the past two days!!  I can’t believe I did that…  So tonight I leave you with THREE! (insert your hooray’s)

Snack suggestion #10

059

A hard-boiled egg with freshly ground black pepper.

Snack suggestion #11

060

Greek yogurt with chopped almonds and honey.

And last but not least….

Snack suggestion #12

066

One whole-wheat English muffin with peanut butter (or almond butter).

Has anyone tried any of the snack suggestions yet?  Which one(s)?

Can’t wait for tomorrow morning!

